Saturday, September 20, 2008

It's official: Thibault is top coach

As reported Friday, Mike Thibault has been named the 2008 WNBA Coach of the Year. Thibault received 24 votes to out-pace Dan Hughes (second, with nine) and Brian Agler (third, with five). Thibault also earned the award in 2006, and is the third coach to receive the honor multiple times. Hughes, last year's recipient, was also honored in 2001 after coaching the Cleveland Rockers, and current LSU coach Van Chancellor won the first three awards as the coach of the Houston Comets (1997-'99).

Some other Thibault facts: His .623 career winning percentage is fourth best all-time and last season he was the third-fastest coach to reach 100 regular-season wins. This season, the Sun ranked third in the league in scoring and tied for first in point-differential, all while starting at least two rookies in 25 games and three rookies once.

A press conference is scheduled for 5:15 p.m. here at Mohegan Sun Arena. Check back later for more reaction as well as a look-ahead to tonight's Game 2 match-up between the No. 2 and the third-seeded New York Liberty (7 p.m., NBA TV).

No comments: