Friday, September 19, 2008

Breaking News: Thibault to be named Coach of the Year

Mike Thibault is expected to be named the WNBA's Coach of the Year Saturday prior to the start of Game 2 of the Sun's first-round series with the New York Liberty at Mohegan Sun Arena. It's the second time Thibault has earned the award, the first coming two years ago after leading the Sun to their second straight 26-8 regular season.

The Sun entered this year's postseason at 21-13 and as the No. 2 seed in the East after at least two national media outlets predicted they would finish sixth in the Eastern Conference, ahead of only the expansion Atlanta Dream.

Since Thibault took over the Sun prior to the 2003 season, no WNBA franchise has won more regular season games (106). Detroit has won the same amount.

No comments: