Sunday, May 23, 2010

For starters, a change ...

An interesting change in the Sun's lineup. Rookie Kelsey Griffin will start at power forward instead of DeMya Walker.

After foul trouble hampered her in 19 minutes in Connecticut's opener, Walker had 10 points and four rebounds in the Sun's 97-82 loss at Atlanta. But she struggled in guarding Sancho Lyttle, who had 27 points, 17 rebounds. A big part of the change, however, may be matchup-based. Washington has a quicker frontcourt than Atlanta with Monique Currie, Crystal Langhorne and Nakia Sanford.

The rest of the Sun's starters remain the same: Renee Montomery, Kara Lawson, Anete Jekabsone-Zogota and Tina Charles. Lindsey Harding, Katie Smith, Monique Currie, Crystal Langhorne and Nakia Sanford are starting for Washington.

Also, voting for the WNBA's All-Star event between the U.S. national team and a group of league All-Stars has started. Fans can vote in person at WNBA arenas. Fans can also vote online beginning Wednesday at

The balloting program gives fans the opportunity to vote for the top 10 players in the WNBA, regardless of conference or position. The 60 players included on the 2010 ballot represent all 12 WNBA teams. A write-in option is also available, allowing fans to choose players not listed on the ballot. The 10 players who receive the most votes will be guaranteed a position on the team rosters. Unlike previous years, the players selected by fans will not necessarily be starters. Any player voted in who is already in the USA national team Pool will play on the U.S. team under coach Geno Auriemma, while the remaining players who have been voted in by the fans will play on the WNBA team.

No comments: