Friday, August 8, 2008

WNBA in the Olympics

I'll have my daily look at the Sun's roster a little later today (Ketia Swanier is up), but the league released some numbers Friday: 39 former and current WNBA players will take part in the Olympics starting this weekend. Here's the full list, with current players in bold.

Player (Team) WNBA Years

United States
Seimone Augustus, 2006-present
Sue Bird, 2002-present
Tamika Catchings, 2001-present
Sylvia Fowles, 2008-present
Kara Lawson, 2003-present
Lisa Leslie, 1997-present
DeLisha Milton-Jones, 1999-present
Candace Parker, 2008-present
Cappie Pondexter, 2006-present
Katie Smith, 1999-present
Diana Taurasi, 2004-present
Tina Thompson, 1997-present

Suzy Batkovic, 2005
Tully Bevilaqua, 1998, 2000-present
Kristi Harrower, 1998-99, 2001-03, 2005
Lauren Jackson, 2001-present
Erin Phillips, 2006, 2008
Belinda Snell, 2005-07
Laura Summerton, 2005-06
Penny Taylor, 2001-2007

Yelena Leuchanka, 2006-07

Claudia das Neves, 1999-02
Adriana Moises Pinto, 2001-02, 2007
Kelly Santos, 2001-02, 2008

Sui Feifei, 2005
Miao Lijie, 2005

Zane Teilane Tamane, 2006

Hamchetou Maiga-Ba, 2002-present

Svetlana Abrosimova, 2001-07
Becky Hammon, 1999-present
Ilona Korstine, 2001
Irina Osipova, 2006
Maria Stepanova, 1998-2001, 2005
Natalia Vodopyanova, 2005

Elisa Aguilar, 2002
Nuria Martinez, 2005
Isabel Sanchez, 2004
Amaya Valdemoro, 1998-2000

South Korea:
Jung Sun-Min, 2003

1 comment:

James said...

Definitely like the list. I wonder if teams could be weighted by WNBA which case, the US would be the clear favorite.